top of page

What Are Atoms: Why I Believe I Can Fly

    Unlike my hoverboard essay, this time it’s a scientific loophole. In fact flying is the easiest thing for me to do. As it is for you. First, let’s define flying. I’m going to use flying with the definition of not touching anything for support. The technical definition is too move through the air under control. I think that the definition previously stated implies that you aren’t touching anything for support. You might have noticed that I have repeatedly used the word touching. As I stated earlier this is a loophole, and there it is. Assuming that touching means the physical connecting of two things. To demonstrate this, simply touch the back of your hand with your fingertip. They’re touching right? Well, I disagree. Atoms can’t touch each other. Their outer shells repel each other at 10-8 ( I can’t type an exponent) metres or 1/100,000,000 metres. That may not seem like a lot but an atoms width is10-10 or 1/ 10,000,000,000. Fun fact: an atom is 100,000 times the size of its nucleus. If you need a refresher on what atoms are I suggest you check out my essay on the periodic table. Atoms have a nucleus, a hub for neutrons and protons with electrons around it extremely far away as you can tell from the first few facts. This being true, atoms are mostly not matter. Now that we know that, having something or rather nothing in between them isn’t that outlandish. Since atoms can’t technically connect, they aren’t touching by my definition. My next question was why can I feel something if I’m not actually touching it? While we aren’t feeling other atoms exactly, it is still because they’re connecting or trying to. Remember that repulsion I mentioned? That force is what we feel when we assume we’re feeling other items. It’s like the haptic feedback on a phone, the closer two atoms get the stronger the “buzz” is. How we feel textures is pretty similar to how you might have assumed. Items with textures that go up and down we feel forces from the farther up atoms and the ones at lower points. The textures that we feel are just different arrangements of atoms so we feel the forces from atoms in different arrangements. Now, what does that mean for words we casually use with definitions that presumptively include touching. Does this affect gravity, or how we think of gravity? Or is the concept of gravity even relevant? The definition of gravity is “the force that attracts a body toward the center of the earth, or toward any other physical body having mass. For most purposes Newton's laws of gravity apply, with minor modifications to take the general theory of relativity into account,” according to the google dictionary. Although I haven’t been to keen on exact and official definitions, I agree with this one. Gravity is a force, and that definition doesn’t say it keeps you on the ground, although some other sites and textbooks do.

Were english words created with this concept in mind? Surely this discovery was after most of their first uses. What does touching mean? If it can’t mean electrons making contact, what can it mean? Is walking just the motion, or is it the contact and force your lower body uses to propel itself? Is it basically magic that I’m putting words onto this machine without touching it?

In the wise words of R. Kelly I believe I can fly.


bottom of page